Archive by Author

N. J. High School Team Champions 1956 – Present

Father Casimir J. Finley Trophy 1956 Columbia-Cranford 1957 Leonia 1958 Seton Hall Prep 1959 Seton Hall Prep 1960 Summit 1961 Summit 1962 Plainfield 1963 Snyder 1964 Seton Hall Prep 1965 Seton Hall Prep 1966 Seton Hall Prep 1967 Hoboken 1968 Seton Hall Prep 1969 St. Peter’s (Jersey City) 1970 St. Peter’s (Jersey City) 1971 Montclair […]

U.S. Amateur Team East Champions 1971 – Present

1971 Franklin Mercantile CC Mike Shahade, Arnold Chertkov, Myron Zelitch, Eugene Seligson 1972 Penn State CC Donald Byrne, Dan Heisman, Steve Wexlar, Bill Beckman, Jim Joachin 1973 The Independents Edgar T. McCormick, Edward Allen, Steve Pozarek, Charles Adkins 1974 Temple University Mike Pastor, Bruce Rind, Harvey Bradlow, Joseph Schwing 1975 GSCA Four Ken Regan, John […]

Notable Tournaments in New Jersey (initial list):

1920: Atlantic City [first place: Marshall] 1921: Atlantic City (8th American Chess Congress)[first place: Janowski] 1923: Lake Hopatcong [first place: Kupchik and Marshall] 1926: Lake Hopatcong [first place: Capablanca] 1928: Bradley Beach National Open Championship [first place: Kupchik] 1939-1945: Ventnor City Invitationals [39:Hanauer; 40: Bernstein,Hanauer 41:Levin; 42: Yanofsky; 43: Santasiere, Shainswit; 44: Levin; 45: Adams […]

Bob Donaldson

Bob Donaldson a long time New Jersey chess leader passed away at the age of 91. Bob was active in the Wilmington YMCA Chess Club in the fifties and 60′s before moving to Toms River, NJ and starting the Toms River Chess Club in 1964. Bob was instrumental in representing NJ to the USCF and […]

New Jersey State Champions 1946 – Present

1946 S. H. Kowalski 1947 A. Stern and J. Faucher 1948 Joseph A. Faucher 1949 1950 Franklin Howard 1951 Edgar T. McCormick 1952 Edward Baker 1953 Franklin Howard 1954 Pvt. Peretz Z. Miller 1955 Franklin Howard 1956 Lev Blonarovych 1957 Matthew Green 1958 Weaver Adams 1959 Orest Popovych 1960 Walter Shipman 1961 Orest Popovych 1962 […]